Awareness and Wisdom Retreat

This retreat is held online.

IMS Online
This retreat is held online.
June 07 - June 13, 2021 (Monday to Sunday)


Meeting format(During program sessions, you will be able to see and hear the teacher, as well as other program participants, and they will be able to see and hear you).

The teachings during this week retreat will explore the four foundations of mindfulness with open awareness and receptive attention, with an emphasis on recognizing the attitude of mind and cultivating the perspective of wise view. The teachings are influenced by the three teachers’ practice with Sayadaw U Tejaniya.

Neesha Patel will be assisting.

There will be some opportunity for group discussion with Andrea and Carol, as well as some individual sign up meetings with Neesha. The daily schedule will include ample opportunity for questions with the teachers.

Fees
For this program, sliding scale fees are $280, $365, $455, or $700. Please select the highest rate you can reasonably afford. We also offer a scholarship fee of $140, and no-fee enrollment for those who request a fee-waiver. Our “Pay What You Can Afford" system supports the cultivation of a dynamic and inclusive community and contributes to the health and vibrancy of the sangha. Select the rate of your choice when you register. Email imsonline@dharma.org for more information or to request a no-fee enrollment.

Registration for this program closes 30 minutes prior to the opening session.

Teacher Support
Most IMS teachers—like insight teachers around the world—offer their teachings freely, and rely on the generosity of students for their livelihood. Teachers do not generally receive compensation from IMS program fees, though IMS may offer a modest advance to ensure financial support and the continuation of the teachings. Click here to learn more about teacher support. There will be an opportunity to offer a contribution to your teachers at the end of your program, or you may donate now

Daily Schedule - all times listed in Eastern Time ET (pacific time PT in italics):
Note: all sessions (except practice discussion groups) will be recorded and posted so you can view it later if you missed one

Monday, June 7
11 - 1 pm ET (8 - 10 am PT) - Opening Session
2:30 - 3:15 pm ET (11:30 - 12:15 pm PT) - Sitting
4:30 - 5 pm ET (1:30 - 2 pm PT) - brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
7 - 8 pm ET (4 - 5 pm PT) - Dharma Offering

Tuesday, June 8 - Saturday, June 12
9 - 9:45 am ET (6 - 6:45 am PT) - Sitting
11 - 12 noon ET (8 - 9 am PT) - Sitting with Instructions
1 - 2 pm ET (10 - 11 am PT) - Practice Discussion Groups
2:30 - 3:15 pm ET (11:30 - 12:15 pm PT) - Sitting
4:30 - 5 pm ET (1:30 - 2 pm PT) - brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
7 - 8 pm ET (4 - 5 pm PT) - Dharma Offering

Sunday, June 13
9 - 9:45 am ET (6 - 6:45 am PT) - Sitting
11 - 12 noon ET (8 - 9 am PT) - Sitting with Instructions
1 - 2 pm ET (10 - 11 am PT) - Practice Discussion Groups
2:30 - 3:15 pm ET (11:30 - 12:15 pm PT) - brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
4:30 - 5:30 pm ET (1:30 - 2:30 pm PT) - Closing Session

Suggested for home practice, starting on Day 2 of this program - listed in ET, please adjust to your time zone:
9 - 9:45 am - Sitting
9:45 - 11 am - Awareness in daily activities, eating, walking meditation, chores
11 - 12 noon - Sitting with Instructions
12 - 1 pm - Awareness in daily activities, eating, walking meditation
1 - 2 pm - Groups for some, or 1 - 1:45 pm - Sitting and 1:45 - 2:30 pm walking meditation
2:30 - 3:15 pm - Sitting
3:15 - 4:30 - Awareness with daily activities, rest, walking meditation
4:30 - 5 pm - short Dharma Reflection & Sitting
5 - 7 pm - Continued practice in whatever way supports awareness for you
7 - 8 pm - Dharma Offering

Information you might find helpful:

Guidelines For Your Home Retreat
IMS Online Program Etiquette
IMS Online FAQ’s

Teachers

Assisting