Indigenous Peoples Insight Meditation Weekend

This retreat is held online.

IMS Online
This retreat is held online.
December 18 - December 20, 2020 (Friday to Sunday)


This meditation retreat commemorates 400 years of Native American resilience since the arrival of colonists at Plymouth Rock. In this affirming weekend, Native American teachers will introduce vipassana, or insight meditation, as a healing practice.

Many Native Americans and other Indigenous Peoples experience intergenerational trauma from the effects of settler colonialism. The stress of living within the dominant culture also threatens our physical and psychological well-being.

The teachers have experienced this trauma and have found healing and wholeness through the Buddhist practice of mindfulness infused with lovingkindness (metta), which cultivates our connection to ourselves, our ancestors, and to life itself. You’ll learn to cultivate the stability of heart to move through this world with greater wisdom and compassion and to begin to heal yourself, past, and future generations.

Each day will begin with instruction and end with talks about the teachings.

This retreat is offered for Indigenous peoples in New England, North and South America, and worldwide.

A note on dana (generosity)
Most IMS teachers—like insight teachers around the world—rely on the generosity of students for their livelihood, and receive no compensation from course fees. All IMS online teachers receive a modest dana advance from IMS to guarantee a minimum level of financial support. (Click here to learn more about the dana practice.) There will be an opportunity to offer a contribution to your teachers at the end of this course.

Cost is sliding-scale: $80, $50, $40, or $30, your choice. Registration fees support the Insight Meditation Society’s work online and at our physical retreat centers in Barre, MA. Scholarships ($10) are available. We welcome you to reach out, nobody will be turned away for lack of funds. For more information, please email imsonline@dharma.org.

Daily Schedule - all times listed in Eastern Standard Time EST:
Friday, December 18
7 - 9 pm EST (4 - 6 pm PST) - Opening Session

Saturday, December 19
10 am - 12 noon EST (7 - 9 am PST) - Morning Session
2 - 4 pm EST (11 - 1 pm PST) - Afternoon Session
7 - 9 pm EST (4 - 6 pm PST) - Evening Session

Sunday, December 20
10 am - 12 noon EST (7 - 9 am PST) - Morning Session
2 - 4 pm EST (11 - 1 pm PST) - Afternoon Session
7 - 8:30 pm EST (4 - 5:30 pm PST) - Closing Session

Guest speaker Ramona/Nosapocket Peters is a member of the Bear Clan of the Mashpee Wampanoag tribe. She was introduced to Vipassana meditation in Myanmar under the instruction of Sayadaw U Pandita in 1996. Nosapocket is also in gratitude to the major spiritual influences in her life from; Hale Kealohalai Makua Jr., (Hawaiian Kahuna of Kona), the Longhouse tradition of the Haunenosaunee, (Six Nations Iroquois Confederacy), Thomas Yellowtail (Crow Medicine man and Sun Dance Chief Montana) and eight Sequoya Shamans (Ecuador and Peru) Nipponzan Myohoji (Buddhist Temple, Leverette MA).

Teachers