September 29, 2020

Indigenous Peoples Insight Meditation Weekend

Indigenous Peoples Insight Meditation Weekend

Bonnie Duran, Jeff Haozous, Jeanne Corrigal and guest speaker Ramona Peters

Friday, December 18 – Sunday, December 20

This meditation retreat commemorates 400 years of Native American resilience since the arrival of colonists at Plymouth Rock. In this affirming weekend, Native American teachers will introduce vipassana, or insight meditation, as a healing practice.

Many Native Americans and other Indigenous Peoples experience intergenerational trauma from the effects of settler colonialism. The stress of living within the dominant culture also threatens our physical and psychological well-being.

The teachers have experienced this trauma and have found healing and wholeness through the Buddhist practice of mindfulness infused with lovingkindness (metta), which cultivates our connection to ourselves, our ancestors, and to life itself. You’ll learn to cultivate the stability of heart to move through this world with greater wisdom and compassion and to begin to heal yourself, past, and future generations.

Each day will begin with instruction and end with talks about the teachings.

This retreat is offered for Indigenous peoples in New England, North and South America, and worldwide.

Cost is sliding-scale: $80, $50, $40, or $30, your choice. Registration fees support the Insight Meditation Society’s work online and at our physical retreat centers in Barre, MA. Scholarships ($10) are available. We welcome you to reach out, nobody will be turned away for lack of funds. For more information, please email imsonline@dharma.org.

A note on dana (generosity)
Most IMS teachers—like insight teachers around the world—rely on the generosity of students for their livelihood, and receive no compensation from course fees. All IMS online teachers receive a modest dana advance from IMS to guarantee a minimum level of financial support. (Click here to learn more about the dana practice.) There will be an opportunity to offer a contribution to your teachers at the end of this course.

REGISTER HERE

 

Daily Schedule
**all times listed in Eastern Standard Time EDT:

Friday, December 18

7 – 9 pm EST (4 – 6 pm PST) – Opening Session

 

Saturday, December 19

10 am – 12 noon EST (7 – 9 am PST) – Morning Session 

2 – 4 pm EST (11 – 1 pm PST) – Afternoon Session

7 – 9 pm EST (4 – 6 pm PST) – Evening Session

 

Sunday, December 20

10 am – 12 noon EST (7 – 9 am PST) – Morning Session 

2 – 4 pm EST (11 – 1 pm PST) – Afternoon Session

7 – 8:30 pm EST (4 – 5:30 pm PST) – Closing Session

REGISTER HERE

Teacher Bios

Bonnie Duran, DrPH, an Opelousas/Coushatta descendant, began Buddhist meditation practice over 35 years ago. She enjoys teaching Spirit Rock’s Dedicated Practitioners Program, short and long retreats, and holds a People of Color and Allies Sangha in Seattle, WA. She also directs the University of Washington’s Center for Indigenous Health Research, is a member of Spirit Rock Teachers Council and a core teacher for IMS’s Teacher Training Program.

Jeff Haozous is a Chiricahua/Warm Springs Apache and a member of the Fort Sill Apache Tribe. He has practiced Insight Meditation since 1996 and has led a meditation group in Lawton, Oklahoma since 2003. Jeff completed the Community Dharma Leader and Dedicated Practitioner Programs at Spirit Rock Meditation Center in Woodacre, California, and is participating in the Spirit Rock Teacher Training program. He has taught and assisted on retreats in California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Oklahoma.

Jeanne Corrigal has been practicing since 1999, is a graduate of Spirit Rock’s Community Dharma Leader Program, and the guiding teacher for theSaskatoon Insight Meditation Community.  Jeanne is a member of the mixed heritage Métis Nation, one of three Indigenous communities recognized in Canada. One of her first teachers in loving presence was Cree Elder Jim Settee.  She is a participant in the 2017-2021 IMS teacher training program.

Ramona/Nosapocket Peters is a member of the Bear Clan of the Mashpee Wampanoag tribe.  She was introduced to Vipassana meditation in Myanmar under the instruction of Sayadaw U Pandita in 1996. Nosapocket is also in gratitude to the major spiritual influences in her life from; Hale Kealohalai Makua Jr., (Hawaiian Kahuna of Kona), the Longhouse tradition of the Haunenosaunee, (Six Nations Iroquois Confederacy), Thomas Yellowtail (Crow Medicine man and Sun Dance Chief Montana) and eight Sequoya Shamans (Ecuador and Peru) Nipponzan Myohoji (Buddhist Temple, Leverette MA).

REGISTER HERE