March 30, 2021

Awareness and Wisdom Retreat | June 7-13 | 21CWAF

Awareness and Wisdom Retreat

Carol Wilson and Andrea Fella

Monday, June 7 – Sunday, June 13

Meeting format (During program sessions, you will be able to see and hear the teacher, as well as other program participants, and they will be able to see and hear you).

The teachings during this week retreat will explore the four foundations of mindfulness with open awareness and receptive attention, with an emphasis on recognizing the attitude of mind and cultivating the perspective of wise view. The teachings are influenced by the three teachers’ practice with Sayadaw U Tejaniya.

 

Neesha Patel will be assisting.

 

There will be some opportunity for group discussion with Andrea and Carol, as well as some individual sign up meetings with Neesha. The daily schedule will include ample opportunity for questions with the teachers.

Fees:
For this course, sliding scale fees are $280, $365, $455, or $700. We also offer a scholarship fee of $140, and no-fee enrollment for those who request a fee-waiver. Our “Pay What You Can Afford” system supports the cultivation of a dynamic and inclusive community and contributes to the health and vibrancy of the sangha. Select the rate of your choice when you register. Email imsonline@dharma.org for more information or to request a no-fee enrollment.

A note on dana (generosity)
Most IMS teachers—like insight teachers around the world—rely on the generosity of students for their livelihood, and receive no compensation from course fees. All IMS online teachers receive a modest dana advance from IMS to guarantee a minimum level of financial support. (Click here to learn more about the dana practice.) There will be an opportunity to offer a contribution to your teachers at the end of this course.

REGISTER HERE

Daily Schedule – all times listed in Eastern Time ET (Pacific Time PT in italics):
Note: all sessions (except practice discussion groups) will be recorded and posted so you can view it later if you miss one.

Monday, June 7
11 – 1 pm ET (8 – 10 am PT) – Opening Session
2:30 – 3:15 pm ET (11:30 – 12:15 pm PT) – Sitting
4:30 – 5 pm ET (1:30 – 2 pm PT) – brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
7 – 8 pm ET (4 – 5 pm PT) – Dharma Offering

Tuesday, June 8 – Saturday, June 12
9 – 9:45 am ET (6 – 6:45 am PT) – Sitting
11 – 12 noon ET (8 – 9 am PT) – Sitting with Instructions
1 – 2 pm ET (10 – 11 am PT) – Practice Discussion Groups
2:30 – 3:15 pm ET (11:30 – 12:15 pm PT) – Sitting
4:30 – 5 pm ET (1:30 – 2 pm PT) – brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
7 – 8 pm ET (4 – 5 pm PT) – Dharma Offering

Sunday, June 13
9 – 9:45 am ET (6 – 6:45 am PT) – Sitting
11 – 12 noon ET (8 – 9 am PT) – Sitting with Instructions
1 – 2 pm ET (10 – 11 am PT) – Practice Discussion Groups
2:30 – 3:15 pm ET (11:30 – 12:15 pm PT) – brief Dharma Reflection and Sitting
4:30 – 5:30 pm ET (1:30 – 2:30 pm PT) – Closing Session

Suggested for home practice, starting on Day 2 of this program – listed in ET, please adjust to your time zone:
9 – 9:45 am – Sitting
9:45 – 11 am – Awareness in daily activities, eating, walking meditation, chores
11 – 12 noon – Sitting with Instructions
12 – 1 pm – Awareness in daily activities, eating, walking meditation
1 – 2 pm – Groups for some, or 1 – 1:45 pm – Sitting and 1:45 – 2:30 pm walking meditation
2:30 – 3:15 pm – Sitting
3:15 – 4:30 – Awareness with daily activities, rest, walking meditation
4:30 – 5 pm – short Dharma Reflection & Sitting
5 – 7 pm – Continued practice in whatever way supports awareness for you
7 – 8 pm – Dharma Offering

REGISTER HERE

Teacher Bios

Carol Wilson first began practicing Vipassana or Insight meditation in 1971, with S.N. Goenka, in Bodh Gaya, India. Since then she has studied and practiced with a number of Theravada teachers, both Asian and Western. She has been particularly influenced by the teachings and practice styles of Sayadaw U Pandita, and in the past ten years, of Ashin U Tejaniya. In the 1980s she spent a year in Thailand as a Buddhist nun, which she continues to appreciate as an immensely valuable and inspiring experience.

Carol has been sharing vipassana and metta retreat teachings since 1986, both in the United States and abroad. She feels a strong commitment to supporting the conditions for long intensive retreats to take place, and for many years she has been teaching the three-month retreat at Insight Meditation Society as well as a month long retreat at Spirit Rock Meditation Center. She is currently a guiding teacher at IMS.

Andrea Fella has practiced insight meditation since 1996, studying with both Western and Asian teachers. Her teaching emphasizes clarity and practicality. She is co-guiding teacher at the Insight Meditation Center in Redwood City, CA, a member of the Spirit Rock Governing Teacher’s Council, and teaches retreats nationally.

Neesha Patel has been drawn to the teachings of the Buddha ever since she first read comic books about the Buddha as a child. She has been fortunate to have been infused by and practiced the dhamma in both Asia and the US. Her practice has been influenced by the guidance of many wonderful teachers, including Sayadaw U Tejaniya and Ajahn Sucitto. Though her dhamma practice primarily derives from Vipassana traditions, she has benefited deeply from wisdom expressed in the Zen/Chan and Tibetan Buddhist traditions.  She loves both intensive longer retreat practice, as well as daily life practice, and is inspired by the radical inclusivity of the dhamma.

Neesha currently resides in Northern California. She is a graduate of Spirit Rock’s Dedicated Practitioner Program, and is a current participant in the 2017-2021 IMS Teacher Training Program.

Guidelines For Your Home Retreat

IMS Online Program Etiquette

IMS Online FAQ’s

REGISTER HERE